Happy 2013! Resolutions? Nah.

Happy New Year Everyone!

vintage-flower-background

January is here. Many of us recognize this month as a new beginning and a month to create our “New Year Resolutions.”

Let’s take a second to think about those. Last year, I did not achieve much of the real resolutions that I wanted to do. This year, I decided to set none. Then I changed my mind…meh, well so-so. Yes and no. They will not be resolutions per say, but the will be goals that I will try to accomplish (with no pressure). Looking back, the pressure to accomplish something made me quit anything and by January 31st the resolution was long forgotten…

This year, I want to keep it simple.

1) Chill the **** out. Dear self, give me a break. I work hard, but this year, we are gonna play hard too! Stop worrying about things that only seem important at the moment. Stop and think, “Will this matter in 5 yrs?” If not, then don’t worry about it.

2) Spend time with the family.  Really what I want to do is spend time with my nieces and nephews. They are so adorable, I want to be able to see them grow. I feel like I am loosing time by being away from them. For example, my niece lost her tooth for the first time. She didn’t  cry… apparently she yanked it out… that can’t be good, but still, wish I would’ve been there.

3) Be fit.

Dear metabolism,

I have given up on you! Wait no, I think you have given up on me 😦 So, I no longer aim to be skinny. At this point all I want is to be fit. Freshman 15 caught on to me after graduation. Now, I want to be healthy, really. So please work with me!

Sincerely,

Me

4) Which leads me to my FOURTH goal. Call to action. Yes. Take action. “I want to be healthy, I want to slim down, blah blah blah.” That’s not gonna work if the only exercise you do is eat. Therefore, walk around, eat better, no more soda, avoid eating out, redeem that yoga class voucher from living social.

5) Get out of debt.  Who are we kidding, that’s not gonna happen tomorrow. Thanks to the stupid price of academia and private schools in the United States many of us will be in debt for a while. However, it’s up to you. Make a game plan. Now that I have a job, I can pay a little more than I am expected. If you can too, then do it (even if it means you can’t buy Coachella tickets or that cute dress at H&M *sigh*)

Regardless, 2013 is gonna be awesome. I am excited. I survived 2012 – I can do anything!

Leave a Reply

